brahma6

ॐ हंसहंसाय विद्महे सोऽहं हंसाय धिमहि।
हंसः सोऽहं प्रचोदयात्॥
om haṁsahaṁsāya vidmahe so’haṁ haṁsāya dhimahi|
haṁsaḥ so’haṁ pracodayāt||

Brahma taught the Vedas and vedāñga (which includes Jyotiṣa) to his mind-born son Nārada. Some jyotiṣa teachings are available in the Nārada saṁhitā. In turn devarṣi Nārada passed this knowledge to Maharṣi Saunaka. Maharṣi Parāśara was the disciple of Maharṣi Saunaka and received the complete knowledge of the Vedas and vedāñga from his spiritual master in addition to substantial learning from his most illustrious grandfather Maharṣi Vasiṣṭha.
His magnum opus Bṛhat Parāśara Horā Śāstra is in the traditional form of dialogue with his śiṣya Maharṣi Maitreya wherein the humble disciple makes sincere queries and is taught the complete Horā śāstra. An exactly similar dialogue exists between Parāśara and Maitreya in the Viṣṇu Purāṇa. Therefore it is imperative to also study this purāṇa to develop a better understanding of the teachings of the seer. In our tradition three books are considered the foundation –

  • Bṛhat Parāśara Horā Śāstra
  • Maharṣi Jaimini kṛta Upadeśa Sūtra
  • Srimad Bhagavat Gītā

Overview

The Parāśara Jyotiṣa course is to be taught in the tradition of Puri, India and includes spiritual instructions to develop the mind in order to grasp the entire subject. The student is to develop a keen understanding of Vedic astrology and will master all the śloka of Bṛhat Parāśara Horā Śāstra (BPHS).

After successful completion of the requisite course students will receive the title of Jyotiṣa Paṇḍita (3rd Academic Year) and Jyotiṣa Guru (5th Academic Year) from Devaguru Bṛhaspati Center [under the by-laws of the governing body Śrī Jagannāth Center®]. Students will be required to take an oath for this certification that entitles them to practice as Vedic astrologers and to mentor apprentices besides being qualified to teach ‘Bṛhat Parāśara Horā Śāstra’ in the tradition.

The course involves study of the monumental classical Sanskrit literature authored by Maharṣi Parāśara – Bṛhat Parāśara Horā Śāstra, which forms the foundation of Vedic astrology. Every śloka will be examined in depth and Sanskrit words explains and translated in English. All study will be with ample illustrations as is the method of the tradition which shows the use of the teachings. Rather than just remember śloka by rote, which is also encouraged, it is better to remember them through application which causes the knowledge to sink deep. The student will develop a thorough understanding of the principles involved and the tradition encourages in-depth thinking to bring out jyotiṣa consciousness.